Album Cover
The Night Races Into Anna
The Green Pajamas
Released: Nov 14, 2006
Label: Hidden Agenda
Track Listing
1 Looking For Heaven [1973]
2 The Memory Of You
3 Beautiful Deadly
4 I Can't Wait Here Anymore
5 Through A Lonely Window
6 Holy Names
7 Song For Tess
8 Bitter Moon
9 Maureenie In A Bottle
10 Forever 13
11 The Haunted Dollhouse
12 The Game [Mina]
13 She Turns Me On
14 Darkness
15 The 4 Mistakes In Life
16 Essence Of Carol
17 Susanna Is Gone
18 When Natalie Sings
19 Shame
20 Black Velvet Cat

Liner Notes

"Kelly's remarkable ability to produce gem after timeless gem of literate, sophisticated psychedelic rock/pop tunes is in full display ... song for song it's as strong a collection of music as anything the band's done. - Michael Toland, High Bias

From the Hidden Agenda website...

A collection of veteran Seattle psych outfit's rare & unreleased tracks 1997-2006...

A compilation along the lines of past Green Pajamas releases like 'Indian Winter' and 'Narcotic Kisses; 20 tracks that, for one reason or another, never made it onto albums or EPs released over the last decade. Most of these songs likely didn't fit the concept or 'sound' of whatever album was being created at the time, and during sequencing, were left off. The result is, ironically, a Pajamas album in what some might regard as the "classic" sense: a rather psychedelic collection of short, sweet pop songs. No theme or agenda.

Mainman Jeff Kelly came across most of these songs again while making digital back-up copies from DAT master tapes. He was struck by how good all these songs sounded collected together. Coincidentally, Eric Lichter offered up two new songs that he'd recorded with Ken Stringfellow (Posies, Big Star, REM) which fit perfectly with this collection.

There's a song Kelly wrote in in 1973 called “Looking For Heaven” and out-takes from both 'Strung Behind the Sun' and 'All Clues Lead to Meagan's Bed.' There are some songs previously only available on magazine compilation CDs and a brand new song, “When Natalie Sings”. There are two songs originally meant for an unfinished concept album (“Forever 13” and “The Haunted Dollhouse”) based on a strange picture book, 'The Haunted Dollhouse" published in the early 1980's. There are also out-takes from 'Northern Gothic,' including the original longer version of 'The Bitter Moon,' and some favorite recordings that just never came out, and more...

So it's a collection of rarities, out-takes and previously unreleased songs that, all together, make a nice double-LP-length collection for Green Pajamas fans. And there might be a Volume 2.

Tracklist detail...

1. Looking for Heaven [1973]
out-take, 21st Century Seance

2. The Memory of You
out-take, Northern Gothic

3. Beautiful Deadly
previously unreleased

4. I Can’t Wait Here Anymore
previously unreleased

5. Through a Lonely Window
out-take, 21st Century Seance

6. Holy Names
from Dream Magazine #3 comp

7. Song for Tess
alternate version

8. Bitter Moon
original version

9. Maureenie in a Bottle
out-take Northern Gothic

10. Forever 13
previously unreleased

11. The Haunted Dollhouse
from Ptolemaic Terrascope #33

12. The Game [Mina]
previously unreleased

13. She Turns Me On
from Rubric 01 compilation

14. Darkness
out-take, Northern Gothic

15. The 4 Mistakes in Life
out-take, All Clues Lead to Meagan's Bed

16. Essence of Carol
alternate mix

17. Susanna is Gone
out-take, In A Glass Darkly

18. When Natalie Sings
previously unreleased

19. Shame
previously unreleased

20. Black Velvet Cat
from Ptolemaic Terrascope issue #35


займы онлайн на карту